Atypical Kids, Mindful Parents Blog
Mindfully Parenting Atypical Kids Podcast
Pause Before Going Over the Cliff!
0:00
-32:28

Pause Before Going Over the Cliff!

What is one thing you did this week that you’re proud of?

Meghan, a joyful, creative mom of differently wired twins, joins me in a passionate conversation about:

-Why committing to SOMETHING every day helps. It trains us to make the time for ourselves every day.

"It's easy to tell ourselves that other things are more important than us... You need this, even if it's 2 minutes. Once we have our differently wired kids, even if we did provide ourselves with more care before kids... I forgot how to do it. I forgot what it was. We do have to reprogram ourselves. Sometimes some of that is deprogramming." -Meghan

Our kids deserve to have us at our best. If you've been putting yourself last, I feel you. I’ve been there. Start fresh today by asking yourself this question:

What do I need in order to show up as my best self?

“Moving my body somehow. I’ve trained myself to make sure that happens because it helps to me be a more present and grounded person.”
-Meghan

-Siblings: when to intervene, celebration, modeling, narrating, repair, boundaries. (Watch the unedited video in the FB group to see the cat fight!)

-With our kids, modeling and narrating go hand in hand. 

“Before we ‘go over the cliff’, how can we pause? It is hard as adults and it is certainly challenging to teach your child that… I’m trying to model it and I’m trying to talk about that… When I get mad I say “I’m sorry I yelled. I need to remember to pause and take a breath.” Even if I didn’t do it right, I try and talk that out to them.” -Meghan

-We had expectations of our kids being like us, because it is all we knew up until that time. We had to go through the stages of grief, which isn’t a judgement on our kids. The 5 classic stages of grief, which aren't linear: Denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance. 

Links:

My Boundaries Podcast: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/mindfully-parenting-atypical-kids-podcast/id1530252372?i=1000495895524

Amber DeLa Garza Boundaries podcast: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/productivity-straight-talk-time-management-productivity/id1239598006?i=1000498816079

FB group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/mindfullyparentingatypicalkids

Free 5 Day Challenge now starts every Monday! Sign up here: https://healthy-happy-yoga.ck.page/calmer

I'm excited to share a new feature on the podcast, to encourage connection and community: Voice messages! Leave me a voice message through the link and I'll answer the ones I can on a podcast (or in an article or video). If you don't want me to put your voice on the podcast, email or DM me instead. If you want to be anonymous, don't leave your name on the message, or ask me to cut that part out.

Just know that I stay in my lane, so I won't answer medical questions, and I won't entertain talk of extreme interventions on children.


--- Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/oceansmama/message

0 Comments
Atypical Kids, Mindful Parents Blog
Mindfully Parenting Atypical Kids Podcast
As parents of atypical kids, we are going to continue to lead challenging lives. Despite overwhelm, isolation and uncertainty, we can cultivate joyful moments, which will help us feel more connected, kind and present with our kids. Together, we can turn the tide of modern parenting towards a more inclusive, compassionate and collaborative approach.
Kate Lynch (she/her): parent to an amazing atypical kid, inclusive yoga teacher, mindful parenting mentor and author. She teaches calming tools to parents of intense kids.
https://www.healthyhappyyoga.com/