Atypical Kids, Mindful Parents Blog
Mindfully Parenting Atypical Kids Podcast
5 Things To Remember When Your Kid is "Standing Out"
0:00
-9:28

5 Things To Remember When Your Kid is "Standing Out"

Answering Parent Questions: 5 Things To Remember When Your Kid is Being Judged

A parent I met (through the 5 day challenge) asked me some wonderful questions, and since I have been writing so much I decided to record my thoughts. I touch on early signs of differences in my son, a little about denial and diagnosis, what I do when people notice my kid's differences, and finally discuss creating inclusive culture for our kids. 

Educate Through Challenges, Celebrate Strengths: 

5 Things I Try to Remember When My Kid is Standing Out

-Some people will judge your parenting or your child, because they are ignorant. Don’t take it personally. Your kid is doing his best and other people’s judgment probably doesn’t bother him. If it does, that shows great emotional maturity and awareness. You and your child are separate people. This isn't a reflection on you. 

-Wait. They get older. They won’t be like this forever. We don't know who they will become.

-Get out of the habit of isolation. Connect with other parents of atypical kids. Find someone to check in with. Push yourself to do this because it is really important.

-Know how brave you are feeling today. Prioritize your emotional safety and don't put yourself in vulnerable situations when you're feeling down.

-Look at your uncomfortable feelings and try to understand what is actually yours, and what is internalized from the culture or others.

Remember the 80/20 rule: Help your child with his challenges 20% of the time and celebrate his strengths 80% of the time.

I do like to ramble, so please help me focus in on what interests you most by getting in touch and asking your own questions. 

I'm excited to share a new feature on the podcast, to encourage connection and community:
Voice messages! Leave me a voice message through the link (scroll all the way down) and I'll answer the ones I can on a podcast (or in an article or video). If you don't want me to put your voice on the podcast, email or DM me instead. If you want to be anonymous, don't leave your name on the message, or ask me to cut that part out.

Just know that I stay in my lane, so I won't answer medical questions, and I won't entertain talk of extreme interventions on children. 

Let's stick together. We really need each other right now, parents!

I have found that having a small community of parents who understand is essential to my wellbeing. Join our Mindfully Parenting Atypical Kids Community https://www.facebook.com/groups/3229904633801703/?source_id=400903940032482

To be the first to know about everything we're up to, join Mindfully Parenting Atypical Kids, and grab your Mindful Meltdown Cheatsheet here: https://www.healthyhappyyoga.com/meltdown


--- Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/oceansmama/message

0 Comments
Atypical Kids, Mindful Parents Blog
Mindfully Parenting Atypical Kids Podcast
As parents of atypical kids, we are going to continue to lead challenging lives. Despite overwhelm, isolation and uncertainty, we can cultivate joyful moments, which will help us feel more connected, kind and present with our kids. Together, we can turn the tide of modern parenting towards a more inclusive, compassionate and collaborative approach.
Kate Lynch (she/her): parent to an amazing atypical kid, inclusive yoga teacher, mindful parenting mentor and author. She teaches calming tools to parents of intense kids.
https://www.healthyhappyyoga.com/